The Governing Board

The Science Europe Governing Board is the senior body of elected members who jointly make, guide and monitor the strategic direction of the organisation. It reports to the General Assembly.

It is comprised of the President, the two Vice-Presidents and minimum six Ordinary Members.

Ordinary Members, being Heads of Member Organisations, are elected by the General Assembly for a term of two years.

The President of Science Europe chairs the Governing Board and decides in the event of tied votes. The Acting Director of Science Europe also attends Board Meetings but does not have a vote. In general, the Board meets at least twice a year.

As of 20 November 2015, Science Europe’s President is Michael Matlosz, President and Chief Executive Officer of the French National Research Agency (ANR). The two Vice-Presidents are Emilio Lora-Tamayo, President of the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) and Ingrid Petersson, Director General of the Swedish Research Council for Environment (FORMAS).

The following people are members of the Governing Board:

  • Zbigniew Blocki, Director of the National Science Centre (NCN), Poland
  • Jane Elliott, Chief Executive of the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC), UK
  • Fernando Ferroni, President of the National Institute for Nuclear Physics (INFN), Italy
  • Arvid Hallén, Director General of the Research Council of Norway (RCN)
  • Matthias Kleiner, President of the Leibniz Association (Germany)
  • Eucharia Meehan, Director of the Irish Research Council (IRC)
  • Marc Schiltz, Secretary General/Executive Head of the Luxembourg National Research Fund (FNR)

The Governing Board may create Management Committees to address organisational issues and make technical recommendations.


(17/05/17) Science Europe expresses its full support to the statement released by the European Research Council (ERC) Scientific Council... read more

(26/04/17) Science Europe recommends the ‘Open APC Initiative’ to create more transparency... read more

(04/04/17) Science Europe condemns legislative measures against academic freedom in Hungary... read more

(24/03/17) Science Europe congratulates ALLEA on the release of the revised ‘European Code of Conduct for Research Integrity’... read more

(23/03/17) Science Europe, LERU, CESAER, and EUA, issue a statement calling on policy makers to provide new momentum for the European Research Area... read more

(09/03017) Science Europe is pleased to announce the appointment of Stephan Kuster as its Acting Director... read more

(10/02/17) New joint Open Letter from European science organisations on mobility, transparency & openness... read more

(06/02/17) New practical guide on improving gender equality in research organisations... read more


Discover the new practical guide to improving gender equality in research organisations... read more