The President

The President chairs the General Assembly and the Governing Board and represents the Organisation internally and externally. The President is elected by the General Assembly for a term of two years.

Photo of Michael MatloszScience Europe’s current President Michael Matlosz is also President and Chief Executive Officer of the French National Research Agency (ANR)

The Vice-Presidents

The President is supported by a Vice-President for Funding Organisations and a Vice-President for Performing Organisations. The Vice Presidents are elected by the General Assembly for a term of two years. The current Vice-Presidents are:

Photo of Ingrid Petersson

Ingrid Petersson
Director General of the Swedish Research Council for Environment, Agricultural Science and Spatial Planning (FORMAS)

Photo of Emilio Lora-Tamayo

Emilio Lora-Tamayo
President of the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC)


(17/05/17) Science Europe expresses its full support to the statement released by the European Research Council (ERC) Scientific Council... read more

(26/04/17) Science Europe recommends the ‘Open APC Initiative’ to create more transparency... read more

(04/04/17) Science Europe condemns legislative measures against academic freedom in Hungary... read more

(24/03/17) Science Europe congratulates ALLEA on the release of the revised ‘European Code of Conduct for Research Integrity’... read more

(23/03/17) Science Europe, LERU, CESAER, and EUA, issue a statement calling on policy makers to provide new momentum for the European Research Area... read more

(09/03017) Science Europe is pleased to announce the appointment of Stephan Kuster as its Acting Director... read more

(10/02/17) New joint Open Letter from European science organisations on mobility, transparency & openness... read more

(06/02/17) New practical guide on improving gender equality in research organisations... read more


Discover the new practical guide to improving gender equality in research organisations... read more