Science Europe Founding Assembly

Photo of Matthias Kleiner and Máire Geoghegan-Quinn shaking hands.On 21 October 2011 European research organisations celebrated the founding of Science Europe in Berlin. The Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (the German Research Foundation) hosted and organised the launch event and the founding assembly in co-operation with the Science Europe Pilot Office. Forty-nine organisations participated in Science Europe’s Founding Assembly and elected the President, two Vice-Presidents and seven Board Members.

Founding Members

Seven organisations acted as founding members of Science Europe:

Presentations from the Launch

Welcome speech by Professor Matthias Kleiner, President of the German Research Foundation (DFG)

‘Science Europe: a Logical Piece in the Puzzle’, speech by Professor Imboden, President of the Research Council at the Swiss National Science Foundation and founding President of Science Europe

‘Research and Innovation: Addressing Common Challenges in Europe’, speech by Máire Geoghegan-Quinn, European Commissioner for Research and Innovation

Speech by Professor Paul Boyle, President of Science Europe

Press Release: ‘Science Europe Founded to Strengthen Collaboration between Europe’s National Research Organisations’

Photos of the Founding Assembly:

Photos: © 2011 DFG/David Ausserhofer


(17/05/17) Science Europe expresses its full support to the statement released by the European Research Council (ERC) Scientific Council... read more

(26/04/17) Science Europe recommends the ‘Open APC Initiative’ to create more transparency... read more

(04/04/17) Science Europe condemns legislative measures against academic freedom in Hungary... read more

(24/03/17) Science Europe congratulates ALLEA on the release of the revised ‘European Code of Conduct for Research Integrity’... read more

(23/03/17) Science Europe, LERU, CESAER, and EUA, issue a statement calling on policy makers to provide new momentum for the European Research Area... read more

(09/03017) Science Europe is pleased to announce the appointment of Stephan Kuster as its Acting Director... read more

(10/02/17) New joint Open Letter from European science organisations on mobility, transparency & openness... read more

(06/02/17) New practical guide on improving gender equality in research organisations... read more


Discover the new practical guide to improving gender equality in research organisations... read more