Scientific Advisory Committee

In November 2015, Science Europe Member Organisations established a new cross-disciplinary Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) who advise Science Europe on key European research policy topics.



The SAC comprises 30 active researchers from 16 countries representing a variety of career stages and demonstrating a wide spread of research disciplines (including new and emerging fields), excellence in their represented research field, and a 50-50 gender balance. They provide scientifically independent advice to Science Europe on key European research policy topics and on the implications of EU legislative and regulatory developments.

Professor Ola Erstad, Head of the Department of Education at Oslo University, was elected as the new Chair of this cross-disciplinary sounding board in November 2016 for a 3-year term. Supporting him in his role are two Vice-Chairs, Susanne Siebentritt, Professor of Physics and Head of the Laboratory for Photovoltaics at the University of Luxembourg, and Professor Igor Emri, Director of the Center for Experimental Mechanics at the University of Ljubljana, Slovenia. Meet all of the SAC members here.

The former Scientific Committees

The SAC replaces the six individual Scientific Committees that ran from 2012 to 2015. Discover the six previous committees including their publications and contributing members here.

The SAC Symposium

The SAC organises an annual Symposium gathering together independent scientific experts with high-level representatives from Science Europe Member Organisations and external stakeholders. The first SAC Symposium was hosted in Brussels in November 2016 on the topic ‘Building a Narrative on Impact and the Societal Value of Science.’ Discover more about about the event, including the agenda, presentations and conference materials here.


(17/05/17) Science Europe expresses its full support to the statement released by the European Research Council (ERC) Scientific Council... read more

(26/04/17) Science Europe recommends the ‘Open APC Initiative’ to create more transparency... read more

(04/04/17) Science Europe condemns legislative measures against academic freedom in Hungary... read more

(24/03/17) Science Europe congratulates ALLEA on the release of the revised ‘European Code of Conduct for Research Integrity’... read more

(23/03/17) Science Europe, LERU, CESAER, and EUA, issue a statement calling on policy makers to provide new momentum for the European Research Area... read more

(09/03017) Science Europe is pleased to announce the appointment of Stephan Kuster as its Acting Director... read more

(10/02/17) New joint Open Letter from European science organisations on mobility, transparency & openness... read more

(06/02/17) New practical guide on improving gender equality in research organisations... read more


Discover the new practical guide to improving gender equality in research organisations... read more